No Compromise: The Work of Florence Knoll by
Florence Knoll (1917-2019) was a leading force of modern design. She worked from 1945 to 1965 at Knoll Associates, first as business partner with her husband Hans Knoll, later as president after his death, and, finally, as design director. Her commissions became hallmarks of the modern era, including the Barcelona Chair by Mies van der Rohe, the Diamond Chair by Harry Bertoia, and the Platner Collection by Warren Platner. She created classics like the Parallel Bar Collection, still in production today. Knoll invented the visual language of the modern office through her groundbreaking interiors and the creation of the acclaimed "Knoll look," which remains a standard for interior design today. She reinvigorated the International Style through humanizing textiles, lighting, and accessories. Although Knoll's motto was "no compromise, ever," as a woman in a white, upper-middle-class, male-dominated environment, she often had to make accommodations to gain respect from her colleagues, clients, and collaborators. No Compromise looks at Knoll's extraordinary career in close-up, from her student days to her professional accomplishments.
AutoCAD 2022 for Interior Design and Space Planning by
AutoCAD 2022 for Interior Design and Space Planning teaches the commands and features of AutoCAD 2022 and demonstrates how to make the most of these powerful tools to complete any interior design or space planning project. Covering both two- and three-dimensional drawings, it provides abundant exercises that walk learners step-by-step through the use of AutoCAD prompts and commands. Using numerous, up-to-date illustrations, the authors dont just capture the essence of this powerful program; they help students thoroughly understand its role in professional interior design, architecture, and space planning. This fully-updated guide: Covers the new AutoCAD 2022 interface Progresses from basic commands to complex drawing exercises Provides over 100 exercises and projects Introduces several new projects appropriate for interior design, space planning, and architecture students.
Blissful nest : designing a stylish and well-loved home by
"In Blissful Nest, celebrated interior designer Rebekah Dempsey offers hundreds of fresh and attainable design ideas to show you how to discover your interior style and create a home that best reflects your personality and the way you live"-- Provided by publisher.
Houses Robert a M Stern Architects by
The house is the architect's favorite form- an opportunity to work collaboratively with clients on design that shapes and enhances life and gives pleasure over time. Here the "House Partners" at RAMSA, four distinguished architects, present 25 houses and apartments the firm has completed in the past ten years, each a unique design and collectively a stylistically diverse group reflecting deep knowledge of history and precedent. For more than fifty years, Robert A.M. Stern Architects has designed extraordinary houses and residences around the world, each suffused with a rich understanding of traditional architecture and an intuitive sense of how to shape a home to the needs of modern life. Many of the firm's important early commissions were houses, and while RAMSA has since evolved into an internationally renowned firm with an extraordinarily broad portfolio, an unflagging dedication to timeless residential design has remained a cornerstone of the practice. In Houses- Robert A.M. Stern Architects, RAMSA's residential Partners--Roger H. Seifter, Randy M. Correll, Grant F. Marani, and Gary L. Brewer--offer an intimate look at RAMSA houses from the last ten years and explore how these residences embody the spirit of place and find harmony between the traditional and the contemporary. A 424-page visual feast of rich, full-color photographs and elegant drawings, the book presents a selection of 17 homes that showcase RAMSA's mastery of diverse styles and highlight the firm's collaboration with leading interior designers, landscape architects, craftspeople, and builders from around the world. Featured are a rambling oceanside retreat in East Hampton; a mountain penthouse in the Rocky Mountains; a lakeside cottage in the Midwest; an urbane Park Avenue apartment; an elegant Mediterranean Revival villa in Fort Lauderdale; and a house in Singapore in that city's distinctive "Black-and-White" style. Together, the homes epitomize the quality, craftsmanship, and undeniable presence that define every RAMSA residence. With every page, readers will gain a deeper understanding of how RAMSA's architects honor context and time-honored design principles while always looking to the future, infusing established tradition with fresh life and anticipating how each home will grow, change, and evolve over the years.
Contemporary retail design : a store planner's handbook by ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million high-resolution images. Includes an extensive collection of photographs and plans of architectural works including building exteriors, interiors, elements, fixtures, furniture and more.
Google Image Search: combs the web for images based on user-specified keywords. Sort by image size, image type, and color.
Great Buildings Collection: over 1,000 buildings and hundreds of leading architects represented with photographs and architectural drawings, maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more.
Library of Congress American Memory Architecture and Landscape Collections: provides access to photos and drawings of American buildings and works of landscape architecture.
Especially if you are looking for large, high-resolution images, your best bet (besides ARTstor) is to use books, journals, or magazines.
Images in Books: Use the WU Library catalog to search by architectural style, architect name, building type, or building name. Keyword searching is usually the most effective way to begin.
See also: the design/construction/detailing section of this guide for library catalog search strategies that will retrieve books featuring images on a variety of architecture and interior architecture topics.
For images in journal & magazine articles, see also: the Articles and Databases section of this guide for tips on where to look for magazine and journal articles that may contain architectural images on the style, building, or architect you are researching.