It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At Woodbury Library there are several platforms that you may use to access eooks. Most of these are listed below. Woodbury Library currently provides access to tens of thousands of eBooks and is regularly adding more. Typically you will access an eBook as a result of a search of the Woodbury Library Catalog, but you may also connect to the eBook platform directly and search and/or browse. For more information on access, see our eBooks Research Guide.
Databases and eBook platforms available for you at Woodbury are:
JSTOR- (Digital rights management (DRM)-free eBooks from top university presses)
Featured Interior Design books in WU Library
No Compromise: The Work of Florence Knoll by A. N. A. ARAUJOFlorence Knoll (1917-2019) was a leading force of modern design. She worked from 1945 to 1965 at Knoll Associates, first as business partner with her husband Hans Knoll, later as president after his death, and, finally, as design director. Her commissions became hallmarks of the modern era, including the Barcelona Chair by Mies van der Rohe, the Diamond Chair by Harry Bertoia, and the Platner Collection by Warren Platner. She created classics like the Parallel Bar Collection, still in production today. Knoll invented the visual language of the modern office through her groundbreaking interiors and the creation of the acclaimed "Knoll look," which remains a standard for interior design today. She reinvigorated the International Style through humanizing textiles, lighting, and accessories. Although Knoll's motto was "no compromise, ever," as a woman in a white, upper-middle-class, male-dominated environment, she often had to make accommodations to gain respect from her colleagues, clients, and collaborators. No Compromise looks at Knoll's extraordinary career in close-up, from her student days to her professional accomplishments.
Publication Date: 2021-06-22
AutoCAD 2022 for Interior Design and Space Planning by Beverly Kirkpatrick, James Kirkpatrick, Hossein Assadipour, David ByrnesAutoCAD 2022 for Interior Design and Space Planning teaches the commands and features of AutoCAD 2022 and demonstrates how to make the most of these powerful tools to complete any interior design or space planning project. Covering both two- and three-dimensional drawings, it provides abundant exercises that walk learners step-by-step through the use of AutoCAD prompts and commands. Using numerous, up-to-date illustrations, the authors dont just capture the essence of this powerful program; they help students thoroughly understand its role in professional interior design, architecture, and space planning. This fully-updated guide: Covers the new AutoCAD 2022 interface Progresses from basic commands to complex drawing exercises Provides over 100 exercises and projects Introduces several new projects appropriate for interior design, space planning, and architecture students.
Houses Robert a M Stern Architects by G. Correll R. BrewerThe house is the architect's favorite form- an opportunity to work collaboratively with clients on design that shapes and enhances life and gives pleasure over time. Here the "House Partners" at RAMSA, four distinguished architects, present 25 houses and apartments the firm has completed in the past ten years, each a unique design and collectively a stylistically diverse group reflecting deep knowledge of history and precedent. For more than fifty years, Robert A.M. Stern Architects has designed extraordinary houses and residences around the world, each suffused with a rich understanding of traditional architecture and an intuitive sense of how to shape a home to the needs of modern life. Many of the firm's important early commissions were houses, and while RAMSA has since evolved into an internationally renowned firm with an extraordinarily broad portfolio, an unflagging dedication to timeless residential design has remained a cornerstone of the practice. In Houses- Robert A.M. Stern Architects, RAMSA's residential Partners--Roger H. Seifter, Randy M. Correll, Grant F. Marani, and Gary L. Brewer--offer an intimate look at RAMSA houses from the last ten years and explore how these residences embody the spirit of place and find harmony between the traditional and the contemporary. A 424-page visual feast of rich, full-color photographs and elegant drawings, the book presents a selection of 17 homes that showcase RAMSA's mastery of diverse styles and highlight the firm's collaboration with leading interior designers, landscape architects, craftspeople, and builders from around the world. Featured are a rambling oceanside retreat in East Hampton; a mountain penthouse in the Rocky Mountains; a lakeside cottage in the Midwest; an urbane Park Avenue apartment; an elegant Mediterranean Revival villa in Fort Lauderdale; and a house in Singapore in that city's distinctive "Black-and-White" style. Together, the homes epitomize the quality, craftsmanship, and undeniable presence that define every RAMSA residence. With every page, readers will gain a deeper understanding of how RAMSA's architects honor context and time-honored design principles while always looking to the future, infusing established tradition with fresh life and anticipating how each home will grow, change, and evolve over the years.
This guide will provide you with some tools and techniques that will help you to complete research assignments for courses offered through the Woodbury University Department of Interior Design. It is intended as a starting point for research and is by no means a complete list of resources. If you are having trouble finding information on your topic or if you have questions about doing research on topics within the field of interior architecture, please use the contact information listed on each page of this guide to speak with a Woodbury University librarian.
Featured Resources for Architecture/Interior Design Research at WU
These resources are commonly used by Woodbury architecture students and faculty, and have been placed on the home page of this guide for your convenience. They are also found, along with many other useful resources on the various tabbed pages of this guide, which you are encouraged to explore.
"The Avery" will help you navigate to magazine and journal articles on specific built works, materials, processes, architects, styles, and more. The descriptions of articles in the database include a precise listing of image types to be found within the articles, and the "physical description" limiter enables the user to limit the search to articles containing particular types of architectural images.
ARSTOR contains more than one million high-resolution images, including photographs and plans, sections, and other architectural drawings of built works. Includes thousands of architectural images from the Avery Library at Columbia University.
Use the WU Library catalog to locate thousands of books, ebooks and videos on specific buildings, architects, built works, materials, processes, and much more. Many of the books and ebooks in the WU Library collection contain diagrams, plans, details, and other architectural images.