Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image of library main space, view from loft
My library account: renew booksLibrary events calendar WU Library on Facebook WU Library on TikTok WU Library on InstagramWU Library on Twitter

Interior Design: Articles & Databases

Browse Journals/Magazines

The following list represents a selection of periodicals available at WU Libraries that focus on interior design and interior architecture.  To find out how to access a particular journal or magazine, search our journals portal by title. 

Location Key:
Burbank Campus=B
San Diego Campus=S

Interior Design  B
Interiors B
Interiors & Sources B, S
Journal of Interior Design B
MD (Moebel Interior Design) B
Middle East Interiors B, S
Old-House Interiors B, S
World of Interiors B

See also: lists of interior architecture and architecture journals available through the WU Libraries:

Image Databases

Artstor

contains more than one million high-resolution images, including photographs and plans, sections, and other architectural drawings of built works. Includes thousands of architectural images from the Avery Library at Columbia University.

Search for Articles by Subject

Some of the databases listed below will provide full text (complete, electronic) versions of journal and magazine articles. Others will provide just a citation (description) for the article. If no full text is available, use the "get full text" button to find out if WU Libraries provides access to a full text version of the article through some other source. If there is no alternative source of full text available, you may request the article through our inter-library loan service

Architecture/Interior Architecture Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Selective coverage back to 1741.

Art & Architecture Source
covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.  Includes the full-text of nearly 650 journals.

Design and Applied Arts Index
contains "abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards."

Building Green
A rich source of case studies and articles on sustainable design and green materials for architecture.

El Croquis Digital Library
Contains detailed plans for many buildings and structures across the world. Each issue of El Croquis is usually dedicated to a single architect or studio, so we recommend you try searching within this database using the architect or studio's name.

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases Containing Some Architecture Journals

Proquest Research Library
offers full text versions of articles (1971-present) from over 2,600 journals/magazines representing a wide range of subjects including architecture.

Wilson Omnifile Full Text Select
a 100% full text multidisciplinary database providing articles from over 1,600 publications.

 

 

Find a Specific Article or Journal

Looking for a particular journal or magazine?
Want to know if WU Libraries subscribes to a certain journal or magazine?

Use our journals portal to search for the journal/magazine by title.

Looking for a particular article?

Try typing the title of the article into the WU library catalog or the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals in quotes. 

If WU Libraries doesn't subscribe to the journal or magazine that contains the article you're looking for, it's likely that we'll be able to get it for you through our interlibrary loan service