Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image of library main space, view from loft
My library account: renew booksLibrary events calendar WU Library on Facebook WU Library on TikTok WU Library on InstagramWU Library on Twitter

Interior Design: Design/Construction/Detailing

Books on this topic in WU Libraries

Building Materials Databases on the Web

Materials Lab: Browse this database by composition, form, process, properties, or applications of innovative and traditional materials.

Materia Material Explorer: Search this database of innovative design materials by material name, project, architect, manufacturer, or keyword. Requires free registration.

Books and Videos

To browse books on topics within the category of building design, construction, and detailing, find the section of the stacks or oversize section of the library with books beginning with the following call numbers. If you don't see your topic listed here, use the library catalog to locate books in the call number area of the topic you are researching or ask a librarian for help.

Quick guide to call number sections: 

  • interior decoration/interior architecture: NK 1700-2195
  • details and decoration (not necessarily specific to interiors): NA2835-NA4050
  • building construction: TH0000-TH9999
  • building materials: NA4100-NA4150, TA401-TA492
  • buildings organized by form: NA 6700-7010
  • buildings organized by use: NA7100-NA7884
  • architectural drawing/representation: NA2695-NA2793​

 

Strategies for searching the WU Library catalog for books, ebooks, and videos on specific building design and construction topics. 

Example: To find resources on a particular building, enter part or all of the building name along with the name of the architect or firm:

Example: To find resources on a particular type of material, enter the name of the material along with the word "construction":

To adapt a materials search specifically for interior architecture, try:

 

Examples: To find resources on a particular building style, element, or typology, enter the name of the style/type/element along with the word "architecture":

Search for design resources on a specific building type:

Search by style:

To adapt the style search above specifically to interior architecture, try: 

Search by element:

 

 

Journal and Magazine Articles

See also: Articles & Databases section of this guide for journal & magazine articles about buildings, materials, and construction.

Building Images in Online Databases

Library of Congress Historic American Building Survey & Historic American Engineering Record: documents achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through images of a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes, including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

Great Buildings Collection: features photographs and drawings of over 1,000 buildings, along with maps, timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more.

Architecture and Interior Design in 20th Century America (Gottscho & Shleisner Collection): is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures.

Oxford Art Online features detailed articles on architectural styles/periods, building types, and materials. International coverage from ancient to modern times.

Pacific Coast Architecture Database contains information on buildings and designers of California, Oregon, and Washington. Features building records, images, maps, and more.