Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image of library main space, view from loft
My library account: renew booksLibrary events calendar WU Library on Facebook WU Library on TikTok WU Library on InstagramWU Library on Twitter

Social Justice & Human Rights: Gender / Sexual Orientation

Some Lingering Questions

What is a TERF?

  • TERF is an abbreviation for Trans-Exclusionary Radical Feminist. A TERF believes that gender is determined by biology, and that therefore, trans women aren't really women. TERFs are hostile to the transgender community. 

Books

Articles

Videos

  • After Stonewall: from the Riots to the Millennium, 2005, Burbank Media Collection: Video HQ76.8 .U5 S882 2005
  • Before Stonewall: the Making of a Gay and Lesbian Community, 2005, Burbank Media Collection: Video HQ76.8 .U5 S883 2005
  • Boy Erased, 2019, Burbank Media Collection: Video HQ75.8.C665 A39 2019
  • Blue is the Warmest Colour, 2013, Netflix
  • Brother Outsider: The Life of Bayard Rustin, 2002, Burbank Media Collection: Video E185.97 .R93 B76 2002
  • Dangerous Living: Coming Out in the Developing World, 2005, Burbank Media Collection: Video HQ76.8 .D48 D36 2005
  • Just Gender, 2013, Burbank Media Collection: Video HQ77.9 .J87 2013
  • Love, Simon, 2018, Amazon Prime, YouTube, Google Play Movies, Rent
  • Matt Shepard is a Friend of Mine, 2016, Kanopy
  • Moonlight, 2017, Burbank Media Collection: Video PN1995.9.B58 M66 2017
  • Tales of the City, 1993, Netflix

Social Media

Online Library Databases

Interested in finding more information? Try searching in some of these databases. Narrow your search by using these suggested search terms.

Helpful Search Terms:

  • Gay and Lesbian Studies
  • Gays
  • Lesbians
  • Gay culture United States
  • Queer theory
  • Homophobia
  • Heterosexism
  • Gender identity
  • Gender nonconformity
  • Gender-nonconforming people
  • Transgender people