It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Justice & Human Rights: Race / Ethnicity / Nationality
No, African is not an ethnicity, as Africa is a continent of over 50 countries, and there are thousands of different ethnic groups therein.
What is the difference between Latinx and Hispanic?
Latinx people have roots in Latin America, while Hispanic people have roots in Spanish-speaking countries. A person can be Latinx but not necessarily Hispanic (for example, the primary language in the South American country Brazil is Portuguese), and someone from Spain would be Hispanic but not Latinx.
Is nationality the same as ethnicity?
In some instances, yes. However, many different countries have more than one ethnicity within them. In addition, nationality may be defined by a country through a political lens, rather than by ethnicity.
What does BIPOC mean?
BIPOC is an abbreviation for Black, Indigenous, and People Of Color.
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi CoatesA #1 New York Times BestsellerA National Book Award FinalistA profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a black father for his son, Between the World and Me clearly illuminates the past, bracingly confronts our present, and offers a transcendent vision for a way forward.
Publication Date: 2016-01-20
Tears We Cannot Stop by Michael Eric Dyson"Elegantly written, Tears We Cannot Stop is powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish." --Toni Morrison"Here's a sermon that's as fierce as it is lucid. It shook me up, but in a good way. This is how it works if you're black in America, this is what happens, and this is how it feels. If you're black, you'll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you're white, Dyson tells you what you need to know--what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen." --Stephen KingAs the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice is heard above the rest. In his New York Times op-ed piece "Death in Black and White," Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Isabel Wilkerson called it "an unfiltered Marlboro of black pain" and "crushingly powerful," and Beyonce tweeted about it. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop--a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted. Short, emotional, literary, powerful--this is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read.
Alt-Press Watch showcases unique, independent voices from some of our nation’s most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from more than 230 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news.
Contains in-depth, unbiased reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Also has pro/con arguments for many current issues. This is a great source to use to explore a topic when beginning your research.
This open-access database of articles and abstracts about education is made available to everyone on the internet for free (you don't need to be from Woodbury). If you encounter an abstract with no full text, you can try searching the Woodbury catalog to see if we have access to the article through a different database. Did you know that you can also search ERIC using the library catalog, so that you get more full text links? Just click here.
This database offers magazine and journal articles on subjects like cinematography, film and television theory, film production, film reviews, and screenwriting. It also contains all of the major Animation scholarly journals.
Includes ProQuest Research Library and all other ProQuest databases in one search interface. Provides access to full text articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers for a wide range of subjects.
PsycNet is a database from the American Psychological Association (APA). It includes citations and full text of book chapters, research articles from journals, conference presentations, book reviews in psychology, and some dissertations.
Contains the most recent thirty years of issues from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal. For the specific coverage dates of each newspaper, go to this database and click on the "Publications" link near the top.