Articles - WRIT 112 - Fall 2019 - Mendoza - Library at Woodbury University

Choosing a Library Database

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest (Combined) This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Research Library and all other ProQuest databases in one search interface. Provides access to full text articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers for a wide range of subjects.
EBSCOhost (Combined) This link opens in a new window
Searches all our EBSCO databases at once, giving you more results.

Databases good for Pro/Con arguments on larger topics (activism, artistic movements, etc.)

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration; helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, and creating presentations.

Anthropology, Art, and Literature Databases

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 600,000 biographies on more than 525,000 people - living and deceased. The reference content is complemented by full-text articles from hundreds of magazines specifically chosen for their value to biographical research as well as relevant multimedia content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
New content now available! Contains journals in the arts & sciences, as well as other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR also contains about 50,000 ebooks from all disciplines, with an emphasis on history and humanities.
3 to 5 year embargo means the most current articles will not be found here.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines in addition to critical essays, literature work overviews, full-text literary works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Offers you the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources in one location. Includes subject entries, biographies, and images. There is a limit of 1 user at a time in this database (if the database is in use, you may get an error message).

Other Databases: Reference/Encyclopedia, E-Books

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 100 subject-specific reference books specially selected to meet the particular needs of Woodbury's curriculum. Images, maps, and sound files are also included.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Here you will find approximately 25,000 downloadable ebooks on a wide variety of academic subjects. Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty only.
EBL is a good resource for books on software that is updated regularly, like Unity, Photoshop, ZBrush, CAD software, etc.

For a full list of databases at Woodbury, please see our A-Z Databases page.

What's a Library Database, and Why Use It?

You may be wondering, "What's the difference between Google and Databases?" You can already find information online, right? Library databases provide access to high quality, credible information that Woodbury pays to access. Databases give you a lot of control as a searcher, but you need to understand how they work.

View these slides to learn more.

Article Search Tips

An excellent place to look for articles is through our library databases. You can find articles elsewhere on the Web, but you will need to be more discerning. Information on the web can come from sources that lack authority, currency, objectivity, etc. ProQuest is a large and broad ranging database that provides full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, trade publications. It is an excellent database with which to get started researching.

Here are some tips:

Limit your search to Peer Reviewed or Academic Articles if you want to eliminate magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
Databases may use/provide subject headings or topics. Use these to narrow or alter your search.
Library databases index a vast amount of information, some of which the library does not own. Click on the Find Full Text icon below the article citation, or in the article record, to see if the library provides access to it.
If you find a relevant article but want to keep searching, try checking the box next to the articles. You can check several to compile a list in order to email, export, or print them later.
If you find an article the library doesn't own, you can get it through interlibrary loan, or travel to a nearby library that owns the journal.
To find other libraries in the area that own the journal with the article you are looking for, search for the journal via WorldCat.org.
To find out what journals the library provides access to, either online or in print, click here.

WRIT 112 - Fall 2019 - Mendoza: Articles

Choosing a Library Database

What's a Library Database, and Why Use It?

Article Search Tips