Library: Science: Research Basics

Getting Started with Science Research

The library offers many resources for science. Finding what you need will depend on what area of science your topic is in; use the tabs on this guide to find specific resources for Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Environmental Studies.

Are you looking for an overview of a topic to help you get introduced, or are you looking to just browse topics? Try these two databases:

Science in Context This link opens in a new window
This database contains contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Are you looking for more detail on your topic than what you'd find in an introductory encyclopedia article? Try looking for books in the library catalog or using the call numbers listed on the tabs in this guide.

Are you looking for information specific enough that you're not finding many books on that topic? Try looking for articles in the library databases. For more detailed articles on science topics, we recommend these databases:

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on environmental science topics like global warming, green building, sustainable architecture, sustainable agriculture, recycling, and more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and urban studies. This valuable database contains more than 2.5 million records from thousands of domestic and international titles dating back over 100 years with over a thousand active core titles.
Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new window
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
ProQuest (Combined) This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Research Library and all other ProQuest databases in one search interface. Provides access to full text articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers for a wide range of subjects.

Featured Books

Everyone Is African by Daniel J. Fairbanks
Call Number: GN289 .F35 2015
ISBN: 9781633880184
Publication Date: 2015-04-07
What does science say about race? In this book a distinguished research geneticist presents abundant evidence showing that traditional notions about distinct racial differences have little scientific foundation. In short, racism is not just morally wrong; it has no basis in fact.
Animal Creativity and Innovation by Allison B. Kaufman (Volume Editor); James C. Kaufman (Volume Editor)
Call Number: QL785 .A723 2015
ISBN: 9780128006481
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Animal Creativity and Innovation explores theories and research on animal innovation and creativity, comparing and contrasting it with theory and research on human creativity and innovation. In doing so, it encompasses findings from psychology, biology, neuroscience, engineering, business, ecology, and education.
A Climate of Crisis by Patrick Allitt
Call Number: GE197 .A58 2015
ISBN: 0143127012
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
A provocative history of the environmental movement in America, showing how this rise to political and social prominence produced a culture of alarmism that has often distorted the facts.
The Physics of Superheroes by James Kakalios
ISBN: 9781592401468
Publication Date: 2005-09-29
If superheroes stepped off the comic book page or silver screen and into reality, could they actually work their wonders in a world constrained by the laws of physics?
Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by Neil deGrasse Tyson
Call Number: QB461 .T97 2017
ISBN: 9780393609394
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? In this book Tyson brings the universe down to Earth succinctly and clearly, with sparkling wit, in tasty chapters consumable anytime and anywhere in your busy day.

Systems Librarian

Amber Wu

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

(818) 252-5203

Subjects: *FAQ, Computer Science, Mathematics, Politics & History, Public Safety Administration, Science (Biology, Environmental, Physics), Urban Studies, Writing & Professional Writing