Library: AASL Core Reference List: Biblios/Lit/Research Guides

Design Research Guides

Andranovich, Gregory, and Gerry Riposa. Doing Urban Research. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1993.
Research design and data collection methods for researching the spatial forms and structures of our urban environment.
Bucsescu, Dan, and Michael Eng. Looking Beyond the Structure: Critical Thinking for Designers and Architects. New York: Fairchild, 2010.
Examines the relationship between the built form and culture and introduces design theory.
Delft University of Technology. Research by Design: International Conference, Faculty of Architecture Delft University of Technology, in Co-operation with the EAAE/AEEA. November 1-3, 2000. Delft: Delft U. Pr., 2001.
Conference proceedings. Includes case studies.
Deming, M. Elen, and Simon R. Swaffield. Landscape Architecture Research: Inquiry, Strategy, Design. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, 2011.
Analysis of the decision making and systematic inquiry that occurs throughout the design process.
Foqué, Richard. Building Knowledge in Architecture. Brussels: UPA, 2010.
Discusses design methods and processes, and explains case study research.
Groat, Linda N., and David Wang. Architectural Research Methods. 2nd ed. New York: J. Wiley, 2013.
A practical guide for architects. Includes historical, qualitative, correlational, experimental, simulation and modeling, logical argumentation, case study, and mixed methods for investigating built forms.
Kopec, David Alan, Edith L. A. Sinclair, and Bruce Matthes. Evidence Based Design: A Process for Research and Writing. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2012.
Methods; site analysis and case studies; surveys, interviews, and observations; historical analysis; experimentation and computer modeling; citations and more.
Laurel, Brenda. Design research: Methods and Perspectives. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2003.
An introduction to research tools that can be used to inform design as well as ideas about how and when to deploy them effectively.
Piotrowski, Christine M. Problem Solving and Critical Thinking for Designers. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2011.
Design as process and design thinking for architects and interior designers.
Rowe, Peter G. Design thinking. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1994.
Includes case studies.
Sanoff, Henry. Visual Research Methods in Design. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991.
Wehrli, Robert. Environmental Design Research: How to Do It and How to Apply It. New York: Wiley, 1986.
Research methods, how information is applied in design, and effective research communications.
Wingert-Playdon, Kate, and Herman Neuckermans, eds. Emerging Research + Design: ARCC/EAAE Conference Proceedings. Philadelphia, PA, May 31-June 4, 2006. Philadelphia: Architectural Research Centers Consortium, 2007.
Includes design research examples and case studies.

Architectural Research Guides and Information Sources

This is a list of bibliographies and bibliographic guides useful for locating recommended sources for research on architectural topics and for developing or evaluating architectural library collections.

Arntzen, Etta and Robert Rainwater. Guide to the Literature of Art History. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980.
Excellent bibliography covering art and architectural history worldwide, by region and media. Includes general reference sources, primary and secondary sources, periodicals and books in series. Provides author-title and subject indexes. (For architecture, see chapter J, pages 193-234.)
Ehresmann, Donald L. Architecture: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1984.
Includes general works on the history of architecture, arranged by period. Also includes landscape architecture and "city design."
Godel, Jules B. Sources of Construction Information: An Annotated Guide to Reports, Books, Periodicals, Standards, and Codes. Vol. 1, Books. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977.
Only the volume covering Books was published. Contains entries on architectural design, structural design, building materials, etc.
Goldman, Bernard. Reading and Writing in the Arts: A Handbook. Rev. ed. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1978.
Annotated and indexed guide to bibliographies, biographical sources, reference sources, and histories. Covers architecture, art history, and crafts. Includes a section on "Writing a Research Paper."
Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information: Research Methods and Resources. 3rd ed. Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., 1990.
Practical guide to conducting effective art research. Methodology, resources, and reference materials are discussed. Includes a dictionary of art terms in foreign languages and an index to publications, subjects, and professions. Chapter 21 covers research resources for architects.
Marmor, Max, and Alex Ross. Guide to the Literature of Art History 2. Chicago: American Library Association, 2005.
Supplements the Guide to the Literature of Art History. (For architecture, see chapter J, pages 235-310).
Nurcombe, Valerie J. Information Sources in Architecture and Construction. 2nd ed. New Providence. NJ: Bowker-Saur, 1996.
Comprehensive bibliographic guide to sources that are of interest to architects and those in the construction industry.
Wayne, Kathryn M. Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the Practice of Architecture. Design Reference Series, vol. 2. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1997.
Lists sources by building type as well as core reference sources and periodicals. Indexed.

Writing Aids

This list only includes sources with content of special interest to architecture and related disciplines. General research and writing aids have been omitted.

Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing About Art. 11th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson, 2014.
A guide to analyzing works of art (drawings, paintings, photographs, sculptures) and architecture, and how to present your ideas through effective writing.
Barrett, Terry. Criticizing Art: Understanding the Contemporary. 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2011.
Though the focus is on art, the sections on criticism and on writing an artist's statement may also be of interest to architects.
Chappell, David. Report Writing for Architects and Project Managers. 3rd ed. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Science, 1996.
Provides samples of standard report formats needed in an architectural practice; highlights important points to be considered by architects in their reports.
Farrell, Peter. Writing a Built Environment Dissertation: Practical Guidance and Examples. Ames, IA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Practical guidance supported by a variety of examples using a range of methods.
Sayre, Henry M. Writing About Art. 6th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2008.
Guide to describing, interpreting, and writing about works of art and architecture. Includes essay organization and writing, research techniques, and footnote forms.
Willis, Christopher James, J. Andrew Willis, and Arthur James Willis. Specification Writing for Architects and Surveyors. 11th ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell Science, 1997.
A practical guide for the building specifier, with checklists.

Special Focus Research Guides

Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information and the Internet: How to Find It, How to Use It. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1999.
Includes resources for architectural history, design, decorative arts, and tips for evaluating web sites. Though dated, the outline of the "Seven Basic Steps of Research" is still useful.
Karpel, Bernard, ed. Arts in America: A Bibliography. 4 vols. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1979.
Annotated bibliography organized by media type, including architecture. Useful lists of serials and periodicals, dissertations and theses, visual resources. Indexed.
Kleinbauer, Eugene W., and Thomas P. Slavens. Research Guide to the History of Western Art. Sources of Information in the Humanities, no. 2. Chicago: American Library Association, 1982.
Also useful for the history of Western architecture.
Lewis, Susan A. Interior Design Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of Interior Design. Design Reference Series, vol. 3. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1998.
Illustrated and indexed.
Maddex, Diane. Landmark Yellow Pages: Where to Find All the Names, Addresses, Facts, and Figures You Need. Washington, D.C.: Preservation Press, 1990.
Superseded by Preservation Yellow Pages. However, pages 100-101 feature a very useful section on Researching a Building's History.
Sokol, David M. American Architecture and Art: A Guide to Information Sources. American Studies Information Guide Series, vol. 2. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1976.
Vogelsong, Diana. Landscape Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of Landscape Architecture in the United States. Design Reference Series, vol. 1. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1997.
A standard bibliography and reference guide. Includes garden history. Indexed.
Wodehouse, Lawrence. American Architects from the Civil War to the First World War: A Guide to Information Sources. Art and Architecture Information Guide Series, vol. 3. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1976.
Wodehouse, Lawrence. American Architects from the First World War to the Present: A Guide to Information Sources. Art and Architecture Information Guide Series, vol. 4. Detroit: Gale Research, 1977.
Wodehouse, Lawrence. British Architects, 1840-1976: A Guide to Information Sources. Art and Architecture Information Guide Series, vol. 8. Detroit: Gale Research, 1978.
Wodehouse, Lawrence. Indigenous Architecture Worldwide: A Guide to Information Sources. Art and Architecture Information Guide Series, vol. 12. Detroit: Gale Research, 1980.
Zagars, Julie. Preservation Yellow Pages: The Complete Information Source for Homeowners, Communities and Professionals. Rev. ed. New York: Wiley, 1997.
Guide to preservation information, including a section on architectural styles.