AASL Core Reference List: Indexes & Databases

Covers "history, culture, and current affairs of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Selective indexing for nearly 1,800 journals from as far back as 1954. Coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries." Includes book and media reviews. Available by subscription from Ebsco.

"Coverage includes a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering—from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings...Indexing of nearly 800 periodicals, including over 480 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage dating back to 1983." Available by subscription from Ebsco.

Citation index of selected British and American architectural, building technology, and landscape architecture journals. Titles and number of journals covered vary over time. Online index is searchable by building type, architect/designer, location of building, or by subject. Free online access to content from 1982-1988; later content by subscription. Also available in print, by order or subscription.

Published by the Royal Institute of British Architects’ British Architectural Library, API is an index to newly published books and journal articles from over 300 journals. The freely available RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online includes all of the information from API plus a catalog of the books, photographs, drawings and manuscript collections of the RIBA. It also incorporates a biographical database of architects.

"Full-text coverage of more than 370 periodicals and more than 220 books" dating back to 1937. "Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for 230 books." Includes an "image collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others." Available by subscription from Ebsco. All content from Art and Architecture complete is incorporated in the ArtSource database, along with content from other databases listed individually on this page of the Core Ref. List.

"Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications...covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture..." Full text from more than 300 periodicals, indexing for more than 600 periodicals dating back to 1995 and over 13,000 art dissertations. Available from Ebsco by subscription. All content from Art Full Text is incorporated in the ArtSource database, along with content from other databases listed individually on this page of the Core Ref. List.

"...includes content for more than 55 years of art journalism, from more than 600 publications" including "English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch." Available by subscription from Ebscohost. All content from Art Index Retrospective is incorporated in the ArtSource database, along with content from other databases listed individually on this page of the Core Ref. List.

"Full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitized, but entries date back to the late 1960s." Available by subscription from ProQuest.

Incorporates all of the full-text periodicals previously available via the Art and Architecture Complete and Art Full Text databases along with 70 additional periodical titles. Indexing includes all of the content from Art Index, Art Index Retrospective, and Art Abstracts. Available by subscription from Ebscohost.

An undertaking of Columbia University’s Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library; a sponsored program of the Getty Research Institute, 1983-2009. "The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated weekly." Incorporates The Burnham Index to Architectural Literature (Art Institute of Chicago), 1883 through mid-1960s and citations from the Avery Obituary Index of Architects. Available by subscription from Ebsco and Proquest.

Indexes/abstracts more than 2000 periodicals published in 45 languages, plus books, exhibition catalogues, conference proceedings and bibliographies. All aspects of Western art are covered, including fine arts, decorative and applied arts, industrial design, architecture, popular and folk art, photography, performance art etc. "The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'Art (RILA) for no charge...These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007...they can be searched...by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements."

Published by Building Green, LLC. Integrates online versions of GreenSpec product directory listings, selected articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 360 project case studies. Searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources. Site-wide subscriptions available from www2.buildinggreen.com.

"CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer-aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 11,600 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, ASCAAD, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full text, in PDF, of some 8,600 papers are also available. A separate index of some 1,800 papers in Spanish language is maintained. Published papers relating to building performance may be retrieved directly from the IBPSA-website." Free access to citations. Full text accessible online to members of a CAAD association.

Covers world history excluding the U.S. and Canada. Indexing of more than 2,600 historical journals in over 40 languages, back to 1955. Available by subscription from Ebsco.

This proprietary database, available through Proquest, picks up in 2008 where coverage by the aforementioned free version of the Bibliography of the History of Art available through The Getty ceases. Coverage continues through the present.

Several art and architecture journals are included in each of the 8 Arts & Sciences Collections. Although JSTOR does offer an Art, Art History and Architecture Collection, very few architecture titles are featured and there is no pricing advantage over ordering each title in the collection individually.

"...provides author, title, and full-text searches of ACSA's Annual Meeting, International Conference, Fall Conference, Technology Conference, and Teachers Conference Proceedings." Free access to full-text.

The computerized continuation of an index published since 1884, Compendex has been available online since 1995 as part of the Engineering Village package of engineering databases. Covers chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical, and mining engineering, including construction and environmental engineering. Updated weekly. Available by subscription from Elsevier.

Abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards, surveying designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. Covers crafts, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer-aided design, web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Online by subscription from ProQuest.

Print index of periodical articles on human settlements. Published monthly as Ekistic Index from 1968-1984 by Athens Center for Statistics, and semi-annually as Ekistic Index of Periodicals from 1985-2005 by the Athens Technological Organization, Athens Center of Ekistics, and Athēnaïko Kentro Oikistikēs. ISSN: 0013-2934.

Ebook collection of over 2,310 engineering reference books including handbooks for civil, mechanical, electrical, structural, and design engineering. Available by subscription from CRCnetBASE (Taylor & Francis).

Multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information and abstracts for development studies, the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. Current coverage of some 2,000 international journals (both peer-reviewed and trade publications), with archival coverage of several thousand additional journal titles and books. Available online by subscription via Proquest/DIALOG, OCLC, and Engineering Village.

Abstracts and indexing for 600+ scholarly and general interest titles, including government documents and reports, on the connection between the environment and agriculture, education, health, law, and technology. Coverage includes green building. Includes links to full text of open access titles. Available for free from Ebsco.

"...the bibliographic database of the International Council for Building Research, Studies and Documentation (CIB) covers worldwide technical literature on all fields of building construction, civil and construction engineering, and architecture and town planning." Sourced from 20+ countries and 400+ periodicals. Also includes books, research reports, conference proceedings, business reports, theses, and non-conventional literature dating back to 1976. Available by subscription from OVID.

Publishes review articles, annotated bibliographies, listings and abstracts of recent literature in city and regional planning design. Each issue contains one to three refereed literature reviews and Council of Planning Librarians Bibliographies, along with book reviews, several hundred abstracts of books, journal articles, dissertations, and several hundred bibliographic listings. Published quarterly by SAGE, in print and electronically. Publication began in 1985.

"Since 1971, the Urban Land Institute has been publishing case studies describing the development process of projects that are both innovative in their markets and financially successful. Originally titled Project Reference Files, the case studies were published in print form until 1997, when they were digitized...The short, summary versions of each case study may be viewed free. To view the complete case study with photos, site plans, project data, and a report on the development process requires an annual subscription."

Including 99,000 bibliographic records "covering areas related to the study of cities and regions, this database explores such topics as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other areas" of relevance to the discipline. Among those titles indexed are Urban Affairs Review, Urban Studies, and Journal of Urban Affairs. Coverage dates back to 1973. By subscription from EBSCOhost.