Skip to main content
Banner image of library main space, view from loft
My library account: renew booksLibrary events calendar WU Library on Facebook WU Library on InstagramWU Library on Twitter

AASL Core Reference List: T.O.C./About

Association of Architecture School Librarians Core Reference List

Table of Contents

Arch Schools: architecture school directories, histories, and publications

Biblios/Lit/Research Guides: bibliographies, research guides, and writing aids

Biographical: biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias, and directories

Building Codes/Regs: codes and regulations on the web and in print
    
Cost Estimating: methods, manuals, and cost data resources

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias: general architectural and special-focus dictionaries and encyclopedias, foreign language and multi-lingual architectural dictionaries

Graphic Standards/Arch'l Drawingarchitectural representation guides and handbooks

Histories/Surveys: historical surveys of general, periodic, stylistic or typological focus

Libraries/Spec Coll library collections and special collections catalogs and bibliographies

Indexes & Databases: proprietary databases providing access to periodical articles, case studies, books, dissertations and more in full-text or abstract form

Prof'l Practice: handbooks and guides covering various aspects of professional practice including how-to for designers, legal and ethical considerations careers, portfolios, and exams/licensure

Specs/Trade Lit: construction specification, detailing, project management, and product selection

Styles: definitions, descriptions, and illustrations of architectural styles and their elements/details 

Tech'l Handbooks/Standards: design standards, construction manuals, technical details

Visual Resources: free and fee-based online image collections

NAAB Criteria: a bibliography of sources that support or exemplify NAAB student performance criteria



About this Project

Purpose of the Core Reference Guide:

To identify the categories of core reference resources needed in libraries supporting accredited architecture degree programs in North America and the core resources needed for each category.

Architecture Core Reference Task Force Members:

  • Barbara Opar (chair), Librarian for Architecture, French Language and Literature, Syracuse University - baopar-at-syr.edu
  • Kathy Edwards, Art & Architecture Librarian, Clemson University - kathye-at-clemson.edu
  • Janine Henri, Architecture, Design, and Digital Services Librarian, UCLA Arts Library - jhenri-at-library.ucla.edu
  • Amy Trendler, Architecture Librarian, Ball State University - aetrendler-at-bsu.edu

Final Revision Editor:

  • Barret Havens, Outreach Librarian, Woodbury University - barret.havens-at-woodbury.edu