An excellent place to look for articles is through our library databases. You can find articles elsewhere on the Web, but you will need to be more discerning. Information on the web can come from sources that lack authority, currency, objectivity, etc. ProQuest is a large and broad ranging database that provides full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, trade publications. It is an excellent database with which to get started researching.
Here are some tips:
- Limit your search to Peer Reviewed or Academic Articles if you want to eliminate magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
- Databases may use/provide subject headings or topics. Use these to narrow or alter your search. Example subject terms include: sustainability, sustainable development, sustainable design, (broader topic, e.g. architecture +) environmental aspects, environmental impact, etc.
- Library databases index a vast amount of information, some of which the library does not own. Click on the Find Full Text icon below the article citation, or in the article record, to see if the library provides access to it.
- If you find a relevant article but want to keep searching, try checking the box next to the articles. You can check several to compile a list in order to email, export, or print them later.
- If you find an article the library doesn't own, you can get it through interlibrary loan, or travel to a nearby library that owns the journal.
- To find other libraries in the area that own the journal with the article you are looking for, search for the journal via WorldCat.org.
- To find out what journals the library provides access to, either online or in print, click here.
