Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image of library main space, view from loft
My library account: renew booksLibrary events calendar WU Library on Facebook WU Library on TikTok WU Library on InstagramWU Library on Twitter

NCIDQ Examination: Available Resources

Available Resources

Description

This study guide highlights information about and preparatory materials for the Council for Interior Design Qualification's NCIDQ Certification exam. This includes materials available through the Woodbury Library, online at no cost, and online at cost. 

According to the American Society of Interior Designers: "NCIDQ Certification gives the interior designer a sense of personal achievement and contributes not only to the individual’s professional recognition, but also to the recognition of the profession as a whole. Passing the NCIDQ exam provides interior designers with peer recognition and promotes public acceptance through awareness of a profession with certified practitioners." 

Council for Interior Design Qualification resources

NCIDQ study materials available in the library

Cover of book: NCIDQ section 1 : sample questions and practice exam

NCIDQ section 1 : sample questions and practice exam (David Kent Ballast)

From the publisher: "The best way to prepare for Section 1 of the NCIDQ exam is by answering practice questions--the more questions the better. NCIDQ Section 1 Sample Questions and Practice Exam contains 250 exam-like, multiple-choice questions that cover all Section 1 content areas. The 150-question practice exam simulates the actual exam's format and level of difficulty, enabling you to assess your exam readiness. Reviewing the detailed answers allows you to identify the exam content areas needing further review."

Cover of book: NCIDQ Section 2 : sample questions and practice exam

NCIDQ Section 2 : sample questions and practice exam [David Kent Ballast, National Council for Interior Design Qualification (U.S.)]

From the publisher: "The best way to prepare for Section 2 of the NCIDQ exam is by answering practice questions--the more questions the better. NCIDQ Section 2 Sample Questions and Practice Exam contains 250 exam-like, multiple-choice questions that cover all Section 2 content areas. The 150-question practice exam simulates the actual exam's format and level of difficulty, enabling you to assess your exam readiness. Reviewing the detailed answers allows you to identify the exam content areas needing further review."

Cover of book: NCIDQ section 3 : practice exam for the interior design practicum

NCIDQ section 3 : practice exam for the interior design practicum (David Kent Ballast)

From the publisher: "Solution sections contain Passing solutions and Failing solutions for each exercise. V.2 (folio) contains drawing sheets for each of the exercises. The practice exam includes descriptions and building code requirements for all design exercises to simulate the actual exam's format and level of difficulty."

Cover of book: NCIDQ IDFX sample questions and practice exam

NCIDQ IDFX sample questions and practice exam (David Kent Ballast)

From the publisher: "NCIDQ IDFX Sample Questions and Practice Exam contains 225 exam-like, multiple-choice problems that will help you to pass the Interior Design Fundamentals Exam (IDFX). The problems are organized into two parts. The first part includes 100 sample questions that cover the seven content areas of the exam. The second part consists of a 125-problem practice exam that is consistent with the exam's content areas, format, and level of difficulty. Detailed answers are included for all sample questions and practice exam problems."

Cover of book: NCIDQ IDPX sample questions and practice exam

NCIDQ IDPX sample questions and practice exam (David Kent Ballast)

From the publisher: "NCIDQ IDPX Sample Questions and Practice Exam contains 275 exam-like, multiple-choice problems that will help you to pass the Interior Design Professional Exam (IDPX). The problems are organized in two parts. The first part includes 100 sample questions that cover the seven content areas of the exam. The second part consists of a 175-problem practice exam that is consistent with the exam's content areas, format, and level of difficulty. Detailed answers are included for all sample and practice exam problems."

Cover of book: Lighting design basics

Lighting design basics (Mark Karlen, James Benya)

From the publisher: "Lighting is a basic, yet difficult-to-master, element of interior design, and Lighting Design Basics offers essential knowledge of this complex subject in a concise, highly visual format. Two leading practicing designers, with many decades of experience, present straightforward coverage of lighting design concepts, techniques, and realistic goals to guide new designers and students through the process of creating simple, typical lighting designs and effectively collaborating with professional designers on more complex projects." "Design scenarios for more than twenty different spaces illustrate real-world case studies for illuminating residential and commercial spaces, from kitchens to doctors' offices. Each scenario includes an in-depth rationale for the proposed solution, insightful lighting distribution diagrams, floor plans, and details for lighting installation and construction. Featured exercises offer focused development of lighting design skills in preparation for working on actual lighting design projects, as well as the NCIDQ and NCARB exams." "Packed with informative illustration, Lighting Design Basics is an invaluable resource for students, as well as interior designers and architects studying for professional licensing exams."

Cover of book: Building systems for interior designers

Building systems for interior designers (Corky Binggeli)

From the publisher: "The ultimate interior designer's guide to building systems and safety, Building Systems for Interior Designers, Third Edition is the single-source technical reference that every designer needs, and an ideal solution for NCIDQ exam preparation. Now in its third edition, this invaluable guide has been updated to better address the special concerns of the interior designer within the context of the entire design team. New coverage includes the latest information on sustainable design and energy conservation, expanded coverage of security and building control systems, and a new and expanded art program with over 250 new illustrations. Covering systems from HVAC to water to waste to lighting, this book explains technical building systems and engineering issues in a clear and accessible way to help interior designers communicate more effectively with architects, engineers, and contractors. Professional interior design is about much more than aesthetics and decorating, and technical knowledge is critical. Before the space is planned, the designer must consider the mechanical and electrical equipment, structural system, and building components, and how they impact the space. This book shows you how to evaluate these complex factors, and how each affects your work throughout the building. Consider how site conditions and structural systems affect interior design. Design functionally for human health and safety. Factor water, electrical, and thermal systems into your design plans. Examine the ways in which lighting and acoustics affect the space. The comfort, safety, and ultimate success of a project depend upon your knowledge of building system and your coordination with architects and engineers. Building Systems for Interior Designers, Third Edition provides the comprehensive yet focused information you need to excel at what you do best."

Cover of book: The codes guidebook for interiors

The codes guidebook for interiors (Sharon Koomen Harmon, Katherine E Kennon)

From the publisher: "Get up to speed on the latest codes with the complete reference for interiors. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors, Sixth Edition is the standards reference of choice for designers and architects, and the only guide devoted exclusively to codes applicable to interiors. With jargon-free explanations of all standards and regulations of concern to designers and architects, the book takes readers step-by-step through the codes relevant to each stage in the design process. The updated sixth edition features the latest information on fire codes, performance codes, building and finish standards, energy codes, and accessibility regulations, plus enhanced illustrations that clearly demonstrate how codes apply in real-life scenarios. Interior designers, architects, and facility managers need a basic understanding of the various codes involved with building interiors. These codes are updated on a continuous basis, and professionals must stay on top of new requirements and upcoming codes processes. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors is a complete reference, organized by stage for easy navigation, and comprehensive enough for use as a review for the NCIDQ and ARE exams. The sixth edition contains the most recent developments in interior codes and regulations, including: 2012 ICC codes, including the IBC, and ICC International Green Construction Code Coverage of changes to ADA standards and ICC/ASI accessibility requirements New standards, terminology, and federal regulations Updated information on sustainability as it relates to codes and regulations The companion website features expanded content, and the image bank provides further visual examples of the information presented in the text. Having all applicable codes in a single resource saves hours of research time, and can dramatically reduce the potential for costly planning oversights. Whether renovation or new construction, small or large, codes apply to every project. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors provides designers with the comprehensive information they need to stay up-to-date."

Interior Design Reference Guide

Commercial NCIDQ exam prep resources

Online Resources

As of the April 2021 exam administration the NCIDQ exam sections will be based on the following building codes and standards:

Life Safety Code of the National Fire Protection Association(NFPA) (May be referenced in IDFX & IDPX exams.)