Skip to Main Content
Banner image of library main space, view from loft
My library account: renew booksLibrary events calendar WU Library on Facebook WU Library on TikTok WU Library on InstagramWU Library on Twitter

Architecture: Articles & Databases

This research guide provides tools and techniques to complete research assignments in the School of Architecture.

Architecture & design magazines/journals: current WU Library print subscriptions

A10  S  
A + T  B, S
A + U  B, S
AA Files  B, S
AMC  B
Abitare  B, S
Architect  B, S
Architect's Journal  B
Architectural Design  B
Architectural Lighting B
Architectural Record  B, S
Architectural Research Quarterly  B
Architectural Review  B
Arquine  S
Blueprint  B
Builder  B
Building Operating Management  B
California Homes  B
Casabella  B, S
Competitions  B, S
El Croquis  B, S
DesignIntelligence  B
Detail  B, S
Domus  B, S
Dwell  B, S
Form: Pioneering Design  B, S
Frame  S
GA Document  B, S
GA Houses  B, S
Grey Room  B
Harvard Design Magazine  B, S
House Beautiful  B
ID: Magazine of International Design  B
Interior Design  B
Interni  B
Japan Architect  B, S
Jnl. of Arch. and Plan. Research  B  
Jnl. of Arch. Ed.  B, S
Jnl. of Interior Design  B
Landscape Architecture  B, S 
Landscape Journal  B  
Lighting Design + Application  B
Log   B, S
Lotus International  B, S   
Mark  S
Metropolis  B
Ornament  B
Perspecta  B, S
Plan  S
Praxis  S 
Professional Lighting Design  B
RIBA Journal  B
Thresholds  B  
Topos  S
Volume  B, S
Wallpaper  B, S
Werk Bauen + Wohnen  S

World of Interiors   B

Location Key:
Burbank Campus=B
San Diego Campus=S

Search for Articles by Subject

Architecture Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
a comprehensive listing of journal and magazine articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. A list of architectural images contained in each article is included in article descriptions, and the "physical description" limiter allows users to search for articles containing a specific image type (detail drawrings, site plans, etc.). Some full text. 

Art & Architecture Source
covers a broad range of design-related subjects including architecture, fine arts, decorative arts, and commercial art. Includes the full-text of nearly 650 journals.

Building Green
A rich source of case studies and articles on sustainable design and green materials for architecture.

El Croquis Digital Library
Contains detailed plans for many buildings and structures across the world. Each issue of El Croquis is usually dedicated to a single architect or studio, so we recommend you try searching within this database using the architect or studio's name.

 Image Database

ArtSTOR

Offers exterior photos of buildings, and often times, some plans. 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases Containing Some Architecture Periodicals

JSTOR

Best for architectural criticism, theory, and history. Avery Index and Art & Architecture Source are better for precedent (case study) research. 

Proquest Research Library
offers full text versions of articles (1971-present) from over 2,600 journals/magazines representing a wide range of subjects including architecture.

Wilson Omnifile Full Text Select

a 100% full text multidisciplinary database providing articles from over 1,600 publications on topics including archtecture.

How to locate a specific article or journal/magazine

Looking for a particular article?

Try plugging the title of the article into the WU library catalog search field in quotes.

Or, use our journals portal to search for the journal/magazine by title and then navigate to the specific article you're looking for.

Want to know if WU Libraries subscribe to a certain journal or magazine?

use our journals portal to search for the journal/magazine by title or International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)

Still can't find your journal or article?

If WU Libraries doesn't subscribe to the journal that contains the article you're looking for, it's likely that we'll be able to get it for you through our interlibrary loan service

Image Databases

Artstor

contains more than one million high-resolution images, including photographs and plans, sections, and other architectural drawings of built works. Includes thousands of architectural images from the Avery Library at Columbia University.