Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image of library main space, view from loft
My library account: renew booksLibrary events calendar WU Library on Facebook WU Library on TikTok WU Library on InstagramWU Library on Twitter

Architecture: Architects

This research guide provides tools and techniques to complete research assignments in the School of Architecture.

Featured Books/Ebooks on This Topic at WU Libraries

Journal Articles about Architects

 See also: Articles and Databases section of this guide for resources that will provide you with access to journal & magazine articles about individual architects.

Find Books, Ebooks, and Videos About Architects

Architect biographies/background and catalogs of work organized by architect

Reference books such as dictionaries or encyclopedias are located in the NA40 area of the reference, oversize, or stacks sections of the library may provide short articles about an architect's life and works.

Browse books about individual American architects by going to the NA737 call number section of the library stacks (shelves) or OVERS section. Once you've found the NA737 section, navigate to the subsection corresponding with the architect's last name, arranged alphabetically. For example, works by or about Frank Lloyd Wright will be shelved in NA737 .W7 ("W" for "Wright").

Look up books about architects by using the WU Library catalog to search for the architect by name and then find out which call number area of the stacks or OVERS section has the books you're looking for. For instance, the catalog indicates that books on Tadao Ando are shelved with other items about Japanese architects/architecture in the NA1559 section.

Example: Search catalog for books, ebooks, or videos on Tadao Ando:

Use the catalog to find videos and ebooks on specific architects by searching for the architect by name and then limiting to format: "ebook" or "video." 

Example: Search the catalog for videos on Zaha Hadid:

Step 1: Search for architect by name:

Step 2: Choose appropriate format from left side of search results screen:

Architect Biographies and Background Information in Online Databases

Biography in Context: this database offers biographical articles from a variety of reference and periodical sources such as The International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture and Contemporary Designers. 

Credo Reference: search for biographical articles from a variety of online reference books simultaneously, including The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900 and The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture.

Great Buildings Collection is searchable by architect, building name, or geographic location. Includes basic bibliographic information on each architect along with images, a list of works, and suggested sources for further reading.

International Archive of Women in Architecture: searchable by name or geographic region, this database offers key information for notable female architects, including specializations, awards, education, employment history, licenses, and publications.

Oxford Art Online features detailed biographical articles on major architects from ancient to modern times.

Pacific Coast Architecture Database contains information on buildings and designers of California, Oregon, and Washington. Includes architects, landscape architects, interior designers, developers, and building contractors. Features biographical information, building records, images, maps, and more.