Library: Animation: Researching Jobs, Careers, and Studios

Company Research Tips

You can use some Woodbury Library databases to research companies like studios and publishers. These databases often have information about the people working at a company, the company's financial information, a listing of their competitors, links to recent news articles about the company, and more. Below are a few databases to try.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to "company/organization."
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Provides business and industry information about hundreds of thousands of public and private companies from around the world. Content includes detailed company profiles, SWOT analyses, histories, journal articles, news articles, investment reports, financial data, market share information, industry overviews, and more.
Includes full-text content of reference books such as International Directory of Company Histories, Market Share Reporter, Ward's Business Directories, American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory, Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, and more.
Computer Science: Gale Onefile This link opens in a new window
Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Vocations and Careers: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Vocations and Careers provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Helpful Books

As you probably realize, there will not be entire books about most animation studios, but we do have a few books on our shelves you may find helpful in researching animation studios and their history and culture.

Animating Your Career by Steve Hickner
Call Number: NC1765 .H62 2013
ISBN: 9781938406287
A guide to navigating the journey of a career in the creative fields, from getting your foot in the door to directing a project involving hundreds of artistic professionals. The book is filled with practical advice from Steve and the many top creatives he has worked with over the years.
Directing for Animation by Tony Bancroft
Call Number: NC1765 .B212 2014
In this book, Tony Bancroft walks you through the process of directing animation, bringing you behind the scenes of real, well-known projects - with a little help from some famous friends. Learn from the directors of Aladdin, The Little Mermaid, Ice Age, Chicken Run, and Kung Fu Panda, and see how they developed stories and created characters that have endured for generations. Get the inside scoop behind these major features... pitfalls and all.
How to Get an Animation Internship by Eric Bravo
Call Number: NC1765 .B82 2018
ISBN: 9780692077900
Publication Date: 2018-02-18
If you're a student who wants a job in the animation industry, then an animation internship is the best way to improve your chances of getting into this exclusive and exciting industry! Animation internships give you vital experience and networking opportunities-and can be a stepping stone for a job in the industry. Want to know how to bag an animation internship? Then this is the book for you!In this book, you'll discover: -Where to start and how to build experience-What kind of internships there are-How to set your application apart -How to tailor your resume and cover letter for success-The interview questions you could be asked-The best way to deal with interview rejection-What to do when you get that dream internship-How to turn an internship into something bigger.