Art History: Websites

"L.A.'s new contemporary art museum...is home to the 2,000 works of art in the Broad collection, which is among the most prominent holdings of postwar and contemporary art worldwide." [from http://www.thebroad.org/]

A fun, interactive site which provides "tools and strategies for engaging with modern and contemporary art."

"The American Folk Art Museum is the premier institution devoted to the aesthetic appreciation of traditional folk art and creative expressions of contemporary self-taught artists from the United States and abroad. The museum preserves, conserves, and interprets a comprehensive collection of the highest quality, with objects dating from the eighteenth century to the present." [from http://folkartmuseum.org]

The ICP is "...dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all forms."

"The ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States. Recovered texts provide a much-needed intellectual foundation for the exhibition, collection, and interpretation of art produced along this cultural axis. Countries featured in the first phase of this multiyear project include Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and Latino USA. The ICAA Digital Archive reflects the findings of this monumental digitization project and is now available, free of charge, to the research and teaching community as well as to the public at large."

"Announced in August 2013, the Open Content Program is an initiative to make available, without restrictions, as many of the Getty's digital resources as possible."
Look for a "download" link underneath an artwork image, which indicates that the image is available under the Open Content Program.

Documentation of public art in the US and Canada.

"Founded in 1929 as an educational institution, The Museum of Modern Art is dedicated to being the foremost museum of modern art in the world."

"With 100,000 objects dating from ancient times to the present, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) is the largest art museum in the western United States."

"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."

NYARC is made up of the research libraries of three New York City art museums: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. "With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, NYARC was formed in 2006 to facilitate collaboration that results in enhanced resources to research communities."

From the University of Arizona, this website provides access to an amazing collection of photographs.

This site acts as a portal providing access to "catalogues and papers of artists, dealers, critics, art historians, curators, administrators, museums and related organizations." Also available are "gallery records of the Carnegie Institute museum and oral history program." (CHOICE, Special Issue 39)

Contemporary art database.

This site provides a digest of arts and cultural journalism.

An Educational Forum Furthering the Conversation Regarding Mesoamerican Roots and Contemporary Chicano Aesthetic Vision.

Browse digital images and resources, or access various databases such as the Provenance Index and the Union List of Artist Names®.

This site "provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more."

fine art-related information and images made available through its search engine, which allows users to locate "museum-quality fine art on the Internet."