Sponsored Awards

Section Index: 
Content Body: 

the Ray Bradbury Creativity Award

The Woodbury University Ray Bradbury Creativity Award is presented to individuals who embody the creative spark and social conscience that characterizes Bradbury’s work.  The award was established in 1987 in collaboration with Ray Bradbury (b. 1920 – d. 2012).  Mr. Bradbury was a strong advocate for literacy and learning, and a great friend to the Woodbury University Library.  The award is administered by the Woodbury University Friends of the Library Advisory Board.  For many years Mr. Bradbury presented the annual Creativity Award himself at Woodbury University, and the tradition continues in his spirit.

2015 Kevin Starr

2014 Henry Rollins

2012 Kirk Douglas

2011 Malcolm McDowell

2010 Burt Reynolds

2009 Jody Greenwald

2008 Roy E. Disney

2007 F. Murray Abraham

2006 Anjelica Huston & Robert Graham




Text Center: 

2005 Irvin Kershner

2003 Frank Darabont

2002 Tim Delaney

2001 Norman Corwin

2000 Stan Freberg

1999 Helen Gurley Brown

1998 California Artists Radio Theatre/ Director Peggy Webber


1997 JPL - Mars Pathfinder Team

1996 Barbara Lazaroff

1995 Charles Champlin

1994 Ray Bradbury

1993 Gerald L. Allison, FAIA

1990 Jon A. Jerde, FAIA

1989 Howard Hirsch

1988 Jack Lenor Larsen

1987 Alexander Girard

the Julius Shulman Communication Award

2012 Howard Bingham

2011 Annenberg Space for Photography

2010 Diane Keaton

Text Center: 

2009 Eric Bricker

2008 Henry Segerstrom

2007 Lily Tomlin

2006 Dustin Hoffman

2005 Robert Schuller

2004 Benedikt Taschen

2003 Gil Garcetti

2002 Cathedral of our Lady of the Angels

2001 Huell Howser

2000 Julius Shulman